//
you're reading...
Blog

Listography – 5 Inventions I Would Like To See In The World

This is my first time taking part is Listography.

This week, Kate asks bloggers to come up with 5 inventions they would like to see in the world.

http://katetakes5.blogspot.com/

Here are mine …

1. Governments that recogmnise the contribution that mums can make to society and facilitate that contribution.

As a reasonably intelligent woman, it amazes me that nobody ever really grasps the nettle on making parenting mix well with employment, business, studying or volunteering. The lack of affordable childcare and transport prevents so many parents and mums in particular reaching their full potential and that is to the detriment of society as a whole. I think that this leads to many women feeling very isolated, frustrated and/or inadequate. I rant and rage more about this issue than any other.

2. Beds that grow in size as children do

No, I am not talking about cots, toddler beds and cot beds. I am talking about my kingsize bed. When we first bought it, I had three small children and we thought it was fantastic how we could all snuggle up in it for storytime and so on. Nowadays, if one of our much bigger children gets into bed with us (which is a regular occurence, all too regular if you ask my husband) it is a very tight fit indeed. So I would like an extendable bed please.

3. Cars that never break down

Why is it that they always break down at the most inconvenient time and usually when you don’t have the money to easily pay the repair bill. Cars are all too often a drain on family finances so please can we have some cars that last a lifetime and don’t ever need to go for repairs?

4. Special Glasses for Men and Children

I would like these to be invented so that they actually see the mountains of mess in the making and tidy it up before it gets too bad. I would like them to actually see the things that I put on the stairs that they walk past when it would seem obvious to me that if they are on the stairs, they are intended for going upstairs.

5. A Drawstring Body

I imagine having a string in my back that could be simple pulled every time I put on stones of weight to return me to my former glory without any dieting or exercise effort required on my part.

I have just reviewed the list and if these actually come to fruition, I promise to smile and be happy for the rest of my life. Unrealistic? OK, I will settle for number one.

Please go and check out the other entries.

About mumsarcade

Mother to three children Reviewer of products that make mums' lives easier or more fun

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Listography – 5 Inventions I Would Like To See In The World

  1. Great list. The ‘glasses’ idea doesn’t just affect men – the kids are worse. They never walk around anything, but through and on everything. And the stuff I find in their bedrooms – old banana skins, apple cores etc. It’s like they just don’t see the mess. Loe your drawstring body idea, too – the male version would be drawstring paunch puller! Great list.

    Posted by Reluctant Housedad | June 23, 2011, 9:48 am
  2. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and commenting on my list of inventions.

    I love your list. Very sensible and practical and yes, I can relate to all of them. I’m not sure the car companies would be agreeable to number 3. They make cars so they do break down just so we can buy the over priced spare parts and pay a ridiculous hourly rate for labour! LOL And those glasses. Yes please. I think my husband is worse and he admits it. I have to write things on a list if I want him to do something. Like he can’t see the grass growing that long that children get lost in it? LOL

    Love your blog and the way you think!

    Posted by Anne @ Domesblissity | June 23, 2011, 1:25 pm
  3. If I had an extendable bed it would be the size of a football pitch. I love my bed, I do. As for number 1, can we just not invent a government that is actually useful and genuine? *shaking fist at David Cameron*

    Posted by motherventing | June 23, 2011, 6:01 pm
  4. Thank you so much for commenting on my blog. I love all your inventions. When you’ve got the glasses cracked please send 3 pairs my way! Off now to read some more of your blog, what a lovely idea x

    Posted by Kelly | June 23, 2011, 6:37 pm
  5. I love the bed one!!! totally agree with the government too. x

    Posted by JoJo Kirtley | June 23, 2011, 9:11 pm
  6. Love your list, particularly the drawstring body… it’s making me laugh thinking about it, the method of achieving such a thing. (I am too much of an engineer sometimes) & don’t get me started on the first one…. I could be here all night.

    Posted by The Kitchen Mechanic | June 23, 2011, 9:24 pm
  7. I love your list! I agree with all of it. I have recently become a freelancer as I find it difficult to be a full time mum and want to put my education to good use having spent far too many years getting where I have. I want my cake and I want to eat i basically as I love working but I love being a mum. The only way I can do that is taking the plunge to freelancing to give me the flexibility no employer does, But I am fortunate in that I can do that, and charge a decent amount which means I don;t need to find full time hours. The draw string body would make you a million 10 x over. I agree over the extendable bed, ours are 4 and 7 now and t’husband and i woke yesterday morning molded to each other with less than half the bed, with mini man starfished in the other half, and Little Man laid across the bottom of the bed where our feet should of been! As for the glasses well that si just genius. I am not going to comment on the car one though as I dont want to tempt fate!! Thanks for stopping by my blog x

    Posted by The Rambling Pages | June 23, 2011, 9:49 pm
  8. Amen to number 1 missus. And agree with the rest too – although I think there’s nothing wrong with my hubby and children’s eyesight. They just don’t have the conscience which makes them feel guilty at the mess and actually clean it up. Grrrrr!

    Posted by Donna@MummyCentral | June 24, 2011, 9:20 am
  9. I especially like the idea of a car that never breaks down. Great post. Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by Telebrands | July 8, 2011, 9:18 pm

Please don't leave without saying what you think and feel. Comments make my day

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other followers

Tots 100

TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs
familyholidays.co.uk

Follow us on Twitter

