//
you're reading...
Blog

Magpie Monday

I had a nightmare a few weeks ago where someone kept whispering “Money-Squander” every time I went into a charity shop. It was very real and quite off-putting. I even had a couple of weekends away from the charity shops. The power of dreams.

The problem is that Magpie Monday is one of my very favourite blog hops so a girl must shop till she drops and revel in her money-squandering.

Here are my most recent finds.

I was delighted to find that my local charity shop were selling beakers in their new product section. I quake as my children move around with drinks in glasses or cups so these beakers area godsend. I like the bright colours too and have actually gone back to buy more. You can never have enough beakers. In the same range, they are selling picnic bags, plates and picnic blankets. I am resisting so far ….

For some time, I have looked for some containers for tea, coffee and sugar. My current ones came in a job lot of bargains from Netmums last year and I don’t really like them. It is my experience that you rarely get the full set in charity shops so I picked these up with delight.

I live with my elderly dad and he is always coming into my kitchen to borrow a knife. I was not sure knife but picked up this hoping it was what he is missing in his kitchen in our annexe. Of course, this was a terrible excuce as I actually was after the fork. My late Mum always had one and it is such a good way of testing that your roast is cooked through. Anyway, it turns out my Dad actually borrows my vegetable knife and has his own meat knife. That was bad enough but then I saw the huge “FREE” label having paid £2.50. Still the product was free only if you bought joints so I suppose I got what I was looking for at a reasonable price really.

So this week’s haul was very practical compared with my usual fancies.

Do check out all the other entries and celebrate all things bargain-hunting.

Me and My Shadow

About mumsarcade

Mother to three children Reviewer of products that make mums' lives easier or more fun

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Magpie Monday

  1. Ooh I love those tea/coffee jars they’re super! I only ever see the wooden ones and quite agree they never have th entire set! 🙂

    Posted by Vita | June 20, 2011, 1:30 pm
  2. Oooh I saw a utensil holder in that same range in the Sally Army shop today. Maybe you need one to hold your new meat fork? LOL

    Sorry about your nightmare. You’re not squandering if you need/want/love the things and you will use them. x

    Posted by Liz Burton | June 20, 2011, 2:46 pm
  3. Love those tea/coffee storage jars – have been looking for something exactly like those for month, so am rather jealous!

    Posted by whatshappeningatmyhouse | June 20, 2011, 3:56 pm
  4. There’s no guilt when things are practical, right? And the money you saved on buying new, can be a charity shop treat next time.

    Posted by Faith Hope and Charity Shopping | June 20, 2011, 9:13 pm
  5. Never feel guilty for bagging a bargain xxx

    Posted by Gini | June 21, 2011, 8:10 am

Please don't leave without saying what you think and feel. Comments make my day

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 115 other followers

Tots 100

TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs
familyholidays.co.uk

Follow us on Twitter

